BE MY SISTER

The Cloaked Monk’s MarchChallenge prompt for the 15th is “Childhood.” Sometime back, either through a synaptic misfire or my muse nodding off in mid sentence, Be my Sister, came into being. Although born from nothing and going nowhere, it filled a need at the time and I kind of like it.

BE MY SISTER
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Vermont Lenses

Be my sister.
I’ve never had a little sister before,
but I need one now.
Just stand there and smile,
and I’ll share my autumn with you.

We can run through the trees
and laugh at the clouds.
Maybe in time
childhood dreams do come true.

We’ll fall down and press our heads together
and tell our secrets to the wind.

Be my sister.
Brothers and sisters never have to grow up,
do they?

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to BE MY SISTER

  1. That is cute, I was an only child. Would have been interesting to have someone to play with anytime.

  2. Pingback: March 15: Childhood | Cloaked Monk's Blog

  3. Dishilicious says:

    loving it! sisters are undoubtedly the best thing that can happen to you. i have two younger sisters. 🙂 i’ve always wanted a big brother tho, for as long as i can remember. i have a cousin, who’s as close to me as a brother, again he’s younger 🙂 i guess you can’t have it all 😀

  4. ladynimue says:

    You bet they never ! My brother is 9 years younger to me and i kind of missed having a brother till i made one out of my best friend in KG !! It was silly then but its a bond i cherish most 🙂

  5. vivinfrance says:

    I’ll be your sister!

  6. earlybird says:

    I like the yearning in this. ‘I’ll share my autumn with you’ – very poignant

  7. trisha says:

    this is adorable mike, simply adorable. your poems are so full of tenderness and beauty.

    trisha
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/childhood/

  8. honeyhaiku says:

    Aw,this is a beautiful piece, a touch bittersweet, but it makes it stay with you.

  9. Becca Givens says:

    What a touching pen … I always wanted a big brother I could relate to … want to be him? 😉 ~ becca

  10. RJ Clarken says:

    Oh how I wish I had a brother now! I have two younger sisters – and yep – we will never grow up (even if we grow older.) This was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

