Big Tent Poetry, March 4

The Big Tent Poetry http://bigtentpoetry.org/ prompt for March 4, was “Science.” I was stuck on a poem so I made a list of the inventions, news releases and predictions I have read during my lifetime. The bolded items have come to pass, the others, not so much.

Flickr image by Leave The Box

IT COULD HAPPEN

100 mpg cars
Flying cars
ENIAC (first computer)
Internet
Home computers
Satellites
Unmanned moon landing
Manned moon landing

Moon colony
Mars colony
Space travel
Cold fusion
Another ice age
Global warming
Overpopulation of the Earth
The end of famine
Worldwide famine
The destruction of sea life through pollution
An end of polio*
A cure for the common cold
The eradication of the flu
An end to malaria
An increase in malaria
A cure for diabetes
An increase in cancer rate because of the ozone hole
An increase in cancer rate due to (name a chemical)
A cure for cancer
Unlimited, inexpensive energy
Flooding due to rising sea levels
Mankind’s destruction through nuclear winter

This is nowhere near a comprehensive list, but all these things have appeared in news releases within my lifetime. The ones in bold have been accomplished, at least temporarily. The others were premature news releases or predictions, which so far have not come true.

* Polio has reappeared in India and Nigeria and is spreading to neighboring countries. Only the lack of political will is allowing this to happen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Big Tent Poetry, March 4

  1. Deb says:

    Intriguing use of a list poem. I especially like it when you pair divergent or contradictory scenarios.

    Your thoughts on polio could be the start of a poem, too. It is so tragic. And measles, too. Ugh.

  2. Tumblewords says:

    An interesting study in possibility…

  3. I can see that last one happening eventually when we stop caring for humanity as a whole! Scary, but good list! I nominated you for versitile blogger award, check out the rules on my blog post about it (look for versitile blogger award post from yesterday).

  4. vivinfrance says:

    Malaria is sadly on the increase, killing thousands of children in Africa, so that one should be in bold too. I see where you’re you’re coming from with this piece: I rather blame the media for the muddle, for hyping up theories into certainties.

  5. earlybird says:

    Good list. Not a good rate of achievement though when you look a it… Have a look at this http://www.newscientist.com/gallery/nathan-myrhvolds-world-changing-inventions

    • Mike Patrick says:

      That is an interesting assortment of planetary cures. I have heard of the mosquito laser before, but believe that using simple DDT would work better to stop malaria (it would also get rid of bedbugs). The old myths about DDT being harmful to humans and the environment have long since been disproven; however, it does have a couple of major drawbacks: it’s cheap and effective. This is another instance when the political will to eradicate it is lacking. For some reason, poor countries, being decimated by starvation and sickness, are not allowed to use anything that would actually work. I fear that malaria is being used for population control, and I pray that the United States is not part of it.

      • vivinfrance says:

        My understanding is that the anopheles mosquito became immune to DDT, Is this another bit of spin to delude us?

        • Mike Patrick says:

          There have been reports of some anopheles mosquitoes showing a resistance to DDT. By that, it does not kill them immediately, but DDT was never used as a direct agent to spray on and kill mosquitoes. It was sprayed inside living quarters and acted as a repellent during the night hours when they were the most active. It still works the same way. Mosquitoes do not like it, they stay away if they can. If they get trapped in a room which has been sprayed, resistant or not, they die. It just takes a little longer for those with a built up resistance. They are not immune.

  6. ladynimue says:

    interesting compilation !!

  7. A great list. In many ways it shows the inadequacy of science as well as its successes.

  8. I am curious…do you keep a list? How do you remember? Do you clip out articles?
    I am impressed, perhaps right now I’m not remembering too much, trying to concentrate, too many interruptions…..

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I am a science junkie, and love to research, although one could never tell by this posting. I haunt science blogs due to an interest in medical breakthroughs (my mother died of Alzheimer’s, and my father of emphysema), junk science, global cooling/global warming/climate change/climate disruption/weather disruptions (all reincarnations of the same thing) and the disasters predicted just since 1970. Many of these sites refer to old newspaper articles. I also have the entire Popular Science Archives http://www.popsci.com/archives that I regularly visit when researching something from past science discoveries. Along with that, I’m old, and remember much of what I lived through. My best friend in elementary school had polio, for instance.

  9. nan says:

    Thought-provoking list poem. Some of the scientific breakthroughs seem so miraculous, and others on the list leave me with that awful pang of despair. I hope more on the list are accomplished in our lifetime.

  10. thingy says:

    That’s a scary thought if it is true about ‘the powers that be’ controlling the population in such an awful way.

    Which makes me wonder, how many cures on your list are actually attainable… for the right price?

    Yeah, sometimes I am cynical.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I too am cynical. I try not to get too conspiratorial. There is a quote, and I cannot remember it exactly, but it goes something like this; never blame on evil something that can be explained by simple stupidity.

  11. Laurie Kolp says:

    Very clever to use a list poem here. I like the way you compiled it, too. Some of these seem not too far off.

  12. rallentanda says:

    Interesting poem and theories.I too am cynical about the all powerful drug companies.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      The drug companies milk every penny out of their products. In fairness, research and development of a new drug is enormously expensive. When a cure to cancer, dubieties, etc., is developed, it will probably be one of the big drug companies that does it. Then they will bleed everything they can from the patients needing it to live.

  13. pamela says:

    Not sure how I missed this, Mike.
    I like how you have compiled this
    into a poem.

    Pamela

  14. Brenda says:

    Poems can be lists. Why not? Found poetry has an honourable tradition.

Leave a Reply

