WALKING HOME

The prompt for the Cloaked Monk’s March Challenge, day 12, is “horror.”

I was going to skip the horror prompt because I’ve seen all the horror I ever want to see. I don’t even go to horror movies, but when I stopped and considered horror as a simple writing exercise . . . what the heck.

Flickr image by Dawahar

WALKING HOME
by Mike Patrick

Whistling loudly, I wend
along the graveyard fence.
A stench, as from an open crypt,
drifts across my path
and chokes off my whistling.
Peering back over my shoulder,
I try to pierce the gathering gloom.
I creep along the darkened street.
The echo of each footstep
comes back to trick my ears.
Birds suddenly flee their hiding place
in the tree by the corner.
Something lurks in the deep shadow.
I can feel its eyes as it awakes.
What noise do talons make
as they skitter across the sidewalk?
There, oh sweet Lord, there
is the candle in the window.
A few more steps to safety,
just a few . . . .

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WALKING HOME

  1. Pingback: March 12: Horror | Cloaked Monk's Blog

  2. cloakedmonk says:

    I really enjoyed the portrait you painted. I think I’ve witnessed this scene in many a scary movie.

    Shalom.

  3. Jingle says:

    haunting, I see eyes in the dark…a few steps, home for safety.

    very well done.

  4. vivinfrance says:

    An effective story poem, and a head-on interpretation of the prompt. Brave man!

  5. earlybird says:

    oo! well, I think you engaged very well with the subject, Mike! (what noise do talons make as they ‘skitter’ acrossthe sidewalk?)

  6. ladynimue says:

    Perfect !! could feel the chill .. well left open ended in the last line ..

    I passed the versatile blogger award to you here :
    http://ladynimue.wordpress.com/2011/03/12/versatile-blogger/

    Hope you accept it [ no compulsions ;)]

  7. trisha says:

    this is brilliant mike, you portrayed the scene vividly. just loved it.

    trisha
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/horror/

  8. honeyhaiku says:

    This was definitely spooky enough to emit the idea of horror. I too found the prompt difficult, you have succeed here!

  9. Very well executed. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « A Broken World

  11. Spooky….well done, great write!

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award and I hope you’ll accept it
    http://eclipseofthemoon.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/versatile-blogger-award/

    Have a wonderful day

  12. dani says:

    great build up to a nice, scary ending!

Leave a Reply

