IN HOMAGE TO THE APPLE

The Cloaked Monk’s http://cloakedmonk.com/ March Challenge for day 11 is “Fruit.”

IN HOMAGE TO THE APPLE
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Harrison T

I will not curse the apple,
thought it be the most cursed of fruit.
It was not the apple,
which locked the gates of Eden;
twas weakness of the flesh
and Satan’s evil tongue.
If the fruit of the forbidden tree
had not tempted Eve,
the Earth, looking like an orchard,
would be an empty place.
Hail to thee, inoffensive apple.
You brighten our trees
and grace our tables.
You are beauty to the eye
and pleasure to the palate.
Would that I could love you more.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to IN HOMAGE TO THE APPLE

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I always took that particular apple for a metaphor. But I like your free verse: a different slant on the healthy pomme.

  2. So glad you took on this challenge, too. You’re putting out great stuff, Mike.

  3. didta7 says:

    i want to eat an apple

  4. Pingback: March 11: Fruit | Cloaked Monk's Blog

  5. cloakedmonk says:

    Without yielding to temptation, the earth would be void of all the gifts of humanity. I am sure there is a goodness and a badness in that.

    Shalom.

  6. Nice one Mike, I too picked the Apple as a subject.

  7. earlybird says:

    I was just about to say that I liked this slant on the story when I saw that Viv had used the same word!

  8. Becca Givens says:

    Bravo, Mike … delightful! \(^o^)/
    Have an awesome weekend as well!

  9. ladynimue says:

    I share your ideas .. though not too fond of apples , I love Grren apple iced tea !!!

  10. I think you did well by the apple…lol

    I have nominated your blog for an award. I hope you accept. Happy Friday! 🙂

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/versatile-blogger-award/

  11. I love it! I am nominating you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I hope you consider accepting.

    http://verseinanutshell.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/versatile-blogger-award/

    Also, If you want more information please go to:

    http://cloakedmonk.com/2011/03/11/versatile-blogger-award/

  12. trisha says:

    brilliant poem mike, it was not the fault of the apple. i agree.

    trisha
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/fruits/

  13. honeyhaiku says:

    I see we both traveled through Eden in the prompt!

Leave a Reply

