The Cloaked Monk’s March Challenge, day 5

The prompt for the March Challenge, day 5, is “competition.”

Competitive Haiku

Why do today’s schools
Stifle true competition?
Someone needs to win.

Flickr image by rich9cinci

Real Life

Their little psyches
won’t be damaged
if they fail to win.

They have to learn
when they fall down
to get back up again.

Real life awaits
A few years down;
For that they must prepare.

Protecting from defeat,
squashing competition,
will never get them there.

 

Check out the rest of the challenge at http://cloakedmonk.com/.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Cloaked Monk’s March Challenge, day 5

  1. vivinfrance says:

    I do so agree. The sentiment is spot on, and I like the format of Real Life.

  2. earlybird says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Well said.

  3. Tilly Bud says:

    You speak truth, Mike. Loved the haiku.

  4. Artswebshow says:

    Wow, excellent poems.
    I completely agree with you sentiments in this post.
    Back with our ancestors competition was called survival

  5. connetta says:

    I believe the best we can teach a child about life is that they must win (or lose) gracefully. that what matters most is doing the best we can. this poem is one i wish i had to show my kids when they was young.

  6. Something I have said over and over, but not so eloquently! Very well done and I admire the rhymes.

  7. Lol. I meant rhythm. I guess it flows so nicely, it felt like rhyming. 🙂

  8. ladynimue says:

    the same thought i have when i see school kids competing as if its the end of all things ! and the corruption that it bears ..

  9. cloakedmonk says:

    Wonderful and much more positive than I was going to! There is a balance between no competition – competition – hyper competition (i.e. win at all costs).

    Shalom.

    P.S. For whatever reason, Akismet caught your comment on my site for Day 5 and put it into my spam folder. Luckily, I check that folder! Sorry the link went up a little bit later than I would have liked for you.

  10. Good poem and understand your feelings, but I do not feel competing is always good. It feeds the ego too much and can build resentment from those who lose constantly. Does this mean they are no good at all? I dislike this with young children who have fragile egos already.

  11. short poems says:

    Beautiful poems and lovely blog… great creative write!
    Love it 🙂

  12. Pat Cegan says:

    Ah, but think what life would be like if there was no competition in anything, just each of us helping the other to be loving individuals and worthwhile members of society. hugs, pat

  13. Pingback: March 5: Competition | Cloaked Monk's Blog

  14. Becca Givens says:

    Good pen, Mike! Healthy competition is good – and unhealthy is more than damaging to a young one’s self-esteem and ego. How competition is taught is part of the key. Thanks ~ becca

Leave a Reply

