GUARDIAN ANGEL

I found another great prompt at We Write Poems http://wewritepoems.wordpress.com/. The prompt for this week was “Guardian Angel.” I couldn’t pass it up, so this is a first-time post to We Write Poems.

GUARDIAN ANGEL
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Floating Imitations

From the other side of heaven,
where angels often play,
she keeps her eyes upon me,
for the times I go astray.

Like a muse, she sometimes whispers
silent words against my ear,
Warning me of dangers,
softly guiding to the clear.

Only rarely do I feel her
as a wingtip brushes by,
reminding me of things I miss
and knowing soon I’ll fly.

It’s comforting to realize,
no matter what I do,
I’ve a mother ever diligent,
and I’m thinking of her too.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to GUARDIAN ANGEL

  1. Irene says:

    Oh this is the sweetest. Nice landing.

  2. Tilly Bud says:

    Aww! That’s so sweet.

  3. ladynimue says:

    Very touching ..

  4. Michael, I’m a mom, and I have tears in my eyes. How very touching and true. Keep your ears and heart ever open for her whisper. She will save you from a lot of nasty stuff! Amy
    Here’s my ABC Wednesday poem:
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/03/03/grandma-googles-abc-wednesday/

  5. Mary says:

    Michael, I love your poem and its beautifully expressed message. It makes me think of my deceased mother too, whose birthday WOULD have been a few day ago. I’m hoping she is watching over me and is pleased….

  6. 1sojournal says:

    Michael, my mother passed away a year ago, next month. I have felt her close, heard her whisper, and know I am watched over with caring. Thank you so much for this one,

    Elizabeth

  7. Olivia says:

    Mikey, what a tribute!
    My mom was more than just a parent. My words would never be able to express what I feel for her- I have a huge list of reasons to love her still.
    I miss her indeed.

    Maybe you would want to see what I had written sometime back at your leisure
    A Book is an open window..

    Love xox

  8. versebender says:

    Ah, Mike…so very well done. Vb

  9. nan says:

    Lovely and so very touching.

  10. Tumblewords says:

    How very nice this is!

  11. I liked the sweetness, the flow..

    rivulets of space

  12. Laurie Kolp says:

    Heavenly… a sheer delight! It’s so nice to know our loved ones never truly leave us.

  13. ms pie says:

    motherhood is a blessing beyond measure…

  14. Jingle says:

    good for you.

    may the angel be serving you for good.
    cheers.

    here from big tent poetry:
    http://itistimetothinkformyself.blogspot.com/2011/03/big-tent-poetry-in-55-words.html

    my entry.

Leave a Reply

