MEN AND ESP

I felt like something was missing this morning without the haiku challenge, so I went searching for another prompt. Sure enough, there was Jingle Poetry with Poetry Potluck and a prompt of Cartoons, Sci-Fi and Super Powers. Because some of the stuff I’ve written lately has had a depressing tone, this is a good opportunity to lighten things up a bit.

MEN AND ESP
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Empire Primitive

What super power must men have
to reach a woman’s heart?
My best guess is reading minds
would be the place to start.

“You know what you did wrong,”
drives us guys into depression.
Other times, no word at all
is supposed to teach a lesson.

We don’t do well with subtle hints,
suggestion or innuendo.
If it’s a specific response you want,
why can’t you simply say so?

I know we’re crass, and a little crude,
but that’s the way God made us.
If you expect us to read your minds,
then go ahead and trade us.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to MEN AND ESP

  1. bendedspoon says:

    ahaha! In fairness, what is expected to be read must be spelled out 🙂

  2. Hema says:

    Ha ha..good one!
    ESP or no
    Men will never know!

  3. Jingle says:

    true words…

    A++

    🙂

  4. vivinfrance says:

    That cuts both ways, Mike – I need a degree in psychology to interpret what my OH is grumping about!

    But your last line is definitely out of order – the Devil you know and all that jazz!

    PS Your poem really cheered me up.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      You are trying to over-think it. Men are simple: food, shelter and procreation—not necessarily in that order. Anything past that is gravy. I bow before you wisdom on that “Devil you know,” thing. I rather lost track there.

  5. brian miller says:

    ha. i think that superpower would just get us into even more trouble…

  6. My husband would agree with you 100%!

  7. pamela says:

    Agreed Mike, men are quite simple, women are more
    complex. Well put.

  8. Aleza says:

    Ha, no way am I trading! I love the differences between men and women. Part of the fun is figuring out how to make our different powers work together! Sadly, I have definitely perfected the power of the Silent Treatment. This is such fun. And sorry, I think my poem was one of the depressing ones … oops.

  9. A.B. Thomas says:

    Sweet! Loved it – with the exception of the last two words. I just have this terrible image of me standing in the back corner of the “used man” sales lot where a lot of women would kick me in my tires but decide not to take me for a test drive….

  10. kshawnedgar says:

    ESP tells me you know what you’re talking about when it comes to women. Excellent poem.

  11. Jingle says:

    keep it up..

    this is fiction or online literature, we need super power when we are in trouble such as earthquake, floods…

    in general, we don’t spoil any single super power because one sided opinion maybe biased…

    you have your point crossed powerfully,
    Thanks for sharing.

    A++

  12. Scent of my heart says:

    That was interesting, and pretty big discussion to start on. E don’t want super powers from the man, just to be a man, that’s all!

  13. thingy says:

    Trade you? Intriguing. I don’t care for the possibilities, so we’ll just have to try and get along.

  14. This is so funny, but true! They should start teaching men in kindergarten how to read women’s minds. Although I can sum up what’s in our minds in one sentence: Do everything you can to make us happy. 😉

    I laughed out loud at the last two lines:
    “If you expect us to read your minds,
    then go ahead and trade us.”

  15. Kavita says:

    hahahahh… that would be THE best superpower to have (for a guy, I mean)

    But then again, that would mean no chance to complain (for us women)… aarrgghh…where’s the fun in that!? 🙂

    Enjoyed this one, Mike.. am gonna read it to my hubby and see what he has to day to this.. hehehe

  16. cloakedmonk says:

    ❤ You crack me up!

  17. rmpWritings says:

    somehow i’m not sure reading the female’s mind would really help. i can see the attraction, but i think it would only serve to cause more headaches. i personally would rather not read my mind, but i don’t have much of a choice…

Leave a Reply

