THE GIFT

It has been a difficult day. I’m struggling with iambic pentameter in what I consider an important poem that’s turning into a multi-day project. It has driven all meter and rhyme out of my mind, so this will have to be a free verse day.

THE GIFT
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by weddingmusings

Love is a gift I offer you.
There is no price.
You need give nothing in return,
It’s yours for the taking.

This hand I extend to you
Is to help you up when you are down.
It is offered freely.
If you don’t take it, it is still there.

The prayer I offer in your name
Is heard by God.
His blessings follow you
When I’m not around.

Gifts are given in love.
No need to ask why.
Like tears, they are given once
And are never taken back.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THE GIFT

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Your poetry has an uncanny power to move me in unexpected ways. I should like to keep this one,if I may in my collection of perennial re-readables.
    Viv

  2. It is a lovely poem. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Cheryl says:

    Beautiful poem, Mike, simply lovely. Thank you for sharing it.

  4. trisha says:

    thanks, i will keep that gift close to my soul.

    trisha

  5. Excellent and full of feeling without being overboard. Good luck with the iambs. I find them a challenge. I will look forward to reading it.

Leave a Reply

