MY DRAWER OF MEMORIES

Digging through the slush pile, I stumbled upon what I believe is the second poem I ever wrote. I was thinking of changing its rhyming blank verse into something with a more controlled meter, but when I focused on the subject matter, I couldn’t do it. One might ignore memories, or even try to forget them, but they cannot be changed.

Flicker image by Happy Monkey

MY DRAWER OF MEMORIES
By Mike Patrick

A business card, a locket, half a broken heart,
A note, some letters and two small keys:
Add them all together and it’s just the smallest part
Of the things that you can find in my drawer of memories.

A poster we picked up on that trip in May,
Four pressed blossoms you picked from dogwood trees,
The handkerchief you cried in on our wedding day:
They are all there together in my drawer of memories.

I only kept the good things
Because now you’re not with me.
Though we weren’t meant for diamond rings,
You’re safe in the drawer of my mind’s memory.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MY DRAWER OF MEMORIES

  1. Melissa says:

    I love the imagery and sentiments of this. To choose to keep the good takes a strong heart, because usually something unhappy lurks on the edges.

    I enjoyed this very much.
    Missy

  2. Awwww, this is SO SWEET! I wish we could all hold our ex’s in such high esteem. 🙂

  3. Mike

    I love the piece just the way it is. I am glad you did not change it.

    Kristen

  4. vivinfrance says:

    This is beautifully expressed, seems to be totally devoid of bitterness, which keeps the memory close to your heart.

    In your final stanza, do you think that ’cause’ would be better written in full? and ‘minds memory needs an apostrophe.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thanks Viv. I tried the ’cause’ both ways, and it doesn’t seem to interrupt the flow either way. ‘Because’ seems to be the clearer of the two. Good catch on the apostrophe. That is a known weakness of mine, and I need to use more diligence.

  5. Yes, and everyone who touches our lives in any way becomes a part of who we are…my way of looking at it, anyway.

  6. ziibi says:

    Very nice. Great memory piece and about an ex, impressive. 🙂

  7. trisha says:

    this poem is magical mike. thank god that i did not missed it.

    trisha.

Leave a Reply

