WALK WITH ME IN MOONLIGHT

I’m channeling my greater Moon Child again today. The sun is out right now, but it has been so cloudy of an evening, I cannot even tell the moon’s phase, but I always feel it.

WALK WITH ME IN MOONLIGHT
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by masivaan

Walk with me in moonlight.
The sun is too harsh for what I feel.
Its glare dims my eyes
When I wish to see only you.

Its light shows the world’s imperfections
While I want to see only the perfection walking by my side.

It makes too hot
A passion that I can’t control
Even in the night.

Yes, walk with me in moonlight.
The moon was made for love,
Just like you.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WALK WITH ME IN MOONLIGHT

  1. vivinfrance says:

    A lovely romantic poem. Just the one to give the love of your life next week. I have a sneaking feeling that she would be bowled over.

  2. cloakedmonk says:

    Very seductive! A call to a romantic, perfect, walk.

  3. This is another “brilliant” one, Mike. I’m greatly influenced by moon phases, myself. In my nursing career I saw some most bizarre things when the moon was full.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Throughout my police career, I saw the effect of the full moon in the number of violent calls. The “experts” can say it’s a figment of my imagination all they want—they weren’t there.

      I worked seven years for a small municipal police department. In my area was a small hospital that serviced a relatively large area, much of it high-crime. The head nurse in the ER loved having cops around—something to do with shooting victims coming in by ambulance and the shooters following it in to finish the job. My working relationship with the night nurses (and doctors too) in that ER was nothing short of amazing. I’ve always had a soft spot in my heart for nurses; salt of the earth. For what it’s worth, I never issued a ticket to a doctor or nurse in my life. Love you guys.

Leave a Reply

