The Haiku Challenge, day 9

The prompt for day 9 of the Haiku Challenge is the word “Lilt.”

 

Flickr image by paramoutbooth

LILT
The whistled lilt
Of spring’s first mocking-bird song
Caresses my soul

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Haiku Challenge, day 9

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Brings the hope that this interminable winter will end soon.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Indeed, we are expecting from a dusting to two inches tonight. Spring, blessed spring, where art thou.

      Viv, do you ever have a problem posting a comment on a blog that allows only a Google Account? I’m ashamed that there are members of this challenge where I can’t post a comment. I’ve spent hours trying to get Google Account to work. When it does, I only get only one comment in before it tells me my password (which is cut-and-pasted from the Google Account password I just created) is no good.

  2. trisha says:

    splendid, i too am talking about birdsong 🙂

    is that a mocking bird? its cute.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      It is a mocking bird. We have one that hangs out around the yard for a while every year. While it can mock almost any sound, its call, long and varied, is so beautiful it can stop you in your tracks.

  3. trisha says:

    its an uncanny way in which likeminded people bond together- i was amused to see victoria’s poem talking about the same bird, and i am talking about cardinals.

    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/brook-of-joy/

  4. Nanka says:

    Beautiful haiku and can hear the birdy songs alright!!

    Here the birds lilt is so mixed with the cacophony of the common house crows!! 😀

  5. sarah says:

    I agree with nanka…but donno why i adore crows too! there shiny black feathers appears so beautiful and magnificent. but lilting can never be a crows job 😛
    ‘caresses my soul’ adds a different beauty to ur haiku..good one 🙂

  6. cloakedmonk says:

    Delicious. “Caresses my Soul.” Simply Yummy.

  7. Someone is Special says:

    Beautiful Song Mike.. I admire this one..

    PS: Mike, please leave your DIRECT URL of the post in the linky. It will help the challengers to spot your post soon..

    Someone is Special

  8. honeyhaiku says:

    Mike, this is absolutely lovely. I adore birdsong, “caresses my soul”…PERFECT!

  9. Yes, great brilliant minds inspired by the mockingbird. I’m lucky enough to be in the California desert and already enjoying their songs!!!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I know the desert temperature drops quickly after dark, but I hope the day temps are better than they are here, otherwise, those poor mocking birds are going to freeze their tail feathers off.

  10. Tilly Bud says:

    This is a gorgeous haiku.

  11. pmwanken says:

    I live in an apartment…on the outside of my building is a security light. It’s pretty bright. Blinds/shades don’t keep it’s light out. I’ve gotten used to not having a dark-dark room to sleep in…

    However…every Spring (late Winter, here in South Texas) a Mockingbird decides to make it’s home in the tree outside my bedroom window, which also happens to be near the light.

    This Mockingbird is either confused and thinks it is daylight…or Mockingbirds actually sing at night. All. Night. Long.

    I used to like the song of a Mockingbird! 😉

Leave a Reply

