THE QUILT

Sometimes one does not know an inspiration’s source. A single word, like “quilt,” appears the same time as the muse jostles one’s elbow. The quill rushes off on a mission of its own (though apparently not without rhyme or reason). I do not know where The Quilt comes from. It is nothing from my past, and God, I pray it is nothing from my future. Perhaps it is best to look at it as an exercise in iambic tetrameter and let it go at that.

THE QUILT
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Q is for Quilt

All night she worked upon the quilt,
Each tiny stitch precisely spaced
And every one pulled oh so tight;
Against the chiming clock she raced.

Her bent and gnarled, aching hands
Seemed graceful in the fading light.
Her squinting eyes were teardrop blurred
And hindered more by failing sight.

It slowly took its final form,
A perfect heart, the central theme,
Instead of one that held a flaw
And shattered her daughter’s dream.

Tis finally done, this tiny quilt,
The smallest one she ever made,
To keep a tiny baby warm
As he’s lowered into his grave.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to THE QUILT

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Lovely. Except that true quilters don’t pull their stitches tight! I take my hat off to you for this poem.

    Thank you for visiting my blog – I’ve left an answer to your comment.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I must laugh at my ignorance on quilting. Is it okay to blame my muse?

      Thank you for your comment. I just found your blog yesterday, and it blew me away. I will be visiting again.

  2. Mike I enjoyed your haiku’s but I adore this piece. I too have done a poem on a Quilting Bee. Fantastic visual here.

    Missy

  3. Scent of my heart says:

    So very lovely, heartfelt writing! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Scent of my heart says:

    Greetings! How are you?

    I am Blaga, Community Consultant Assistant from Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    You are welcome to join us this Sunday for our Monday Poetry Potluck Week 21, we are open 8pm, American Central, will remain open for 72 hours,

    First time participant is encouraged to share 1 to 3 random poems or poems unrelated to our theme.

    Sign in to follow our blog if you can!

    Week 21 Theme: Aims, Goals, and Ambitions

    xoxox

  5. we are open now,
    so feel free to come on in and link in poems,

    let us know via commenting.
    cheers.
    your poetry rocks.

  6. pmwanken says:

    Wow! Can I say that again? WOW! Full of heart, Mike. I know someone who had a similar experience…she crocheted a blanket, though……but I remember the emotion she felt as she did so. You’ve captured this scenario well. ~Paula

  7. pmwanken says:

    P.S. ~ there’s a typo in 2nd to last line…”worm” should be “warm”.

Leave a Reply

