DAWN

I learned a new word today. That is not unusual, I daily check the word-of-the-day from two online dictionaries, but today’s word in the Oxford Dictionaries seemed rather special.

Aubade (au•bade)
Pronunciation:/ōˈbäd, oʊˈbɑd/
noun
• A poem or piece of music appropriate to the dawn or early morning.
Origin: late 17th century: from French, from Spanish albada, from alba ‘dawn’.

What would be appropriate for today’s dawn? Here in St. Louis, we have a layer of ice from freezing rain on everything. There is sleet coming down now. The weather report has changed our status from heavy snow to “Blizzard Warning,” with possible white-out conditions in wind gusts up to 50 MPH. Depending on which weather conditions pass over, anywhere from 8 to 24 inches of snow will fall, prompting drifts up to 5 feet deep. Oh yeah, they also say this storm could spawn tornadoes.

How could one not take this challenge?

THE DAWN
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by pellaea

The dawn hath surely broke,
Though just a dim light shows,
O’er sounds of howling winds
And swirl of blowing snows.

The power lines have failed us;
Phone lines are broken too,
Our nearest friend is twenty miles,
Oh, God, what shall we do?

No fire or hearth adorns this house
And the quilts are worn and thin.
Around the doors and windows
A bitter wind is blowing  in.

The dogs are curled in tiny balls
On the floor next to our feet.
And glad we are to have them
With their tiny source of heat.

Tomorrow’s dawn will find us here,
But in what shape, I do not know.
I know I’d be much happier
If never I saw this snow.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DAWN

  1. shadow says:

    it’s cold, but your poem brought a smile to my face. hope to see you with tomorrow’s dawn and in a much warmer state 🙂

  2. inkspeare says:

    Love it! We are experiencing similar conditions here in Jersey. I enjoyed this piece.

  3. We’ve been following your weather situation. So many have been affected. I hope you are warm and safe–stay inside and write poetry. The haiku you left on my post is wonderful. You might want to participate in the daily challenge. The link is on my blogroll: SiS Daily Haiku Challenge.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thank you for your concern. Actually, we lucked out. The severe weather struck about ten miles north of us. We had freezing rain, followed by sleet and the whole mess covered with only about two and a half inches of snow. The snow has been easy to remove, but the ice and sleet will not budge. Even the snowplows cannot cut down to the pavement. Now it is so cold salt will not melt it. Our answer is to stay inside and wait for warmer weather. Even that goofy groundhog is on our side. Unless we run out of dog food for our two big mutts, we will be okay.

      I’m not sure I’m up to a haiku challenge. The one I posted on your blog was the fifth or sixth one I ever wrote. Never tried haiku until I started The Poet’s Quill about three weeks ago. I thought it would be simple, I mean, seventeen syllables. Really? How hard can it be? Very hard is the answer. One actually has to think to produce a suitable haiku—think long and hard. Then think some more before putting quill to paper, but I do enjoy a challenge . . . . Thanks for the invitation.

  4. pmwanken says:

    Mike ~
    I enjoy reading the notes before your poems…..I hadn’t really thought about doing something like that. I had it in my mind: poetry OR pondering. You have a nice mix of both. I might consider doing that in the future…after this crazy Poem-a-Day frenzy is over! ….my brain is starting to hurt… 😉
    ~Paula

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I have had a few comments about by process notes. I know they help set the poem up for a reader, so they know what my inspiration was. I believe that aids in some of the shorter forms where one must jump in and jump out is a few syllables.

      I’m with you on the Poem-a-day. It’s 10:30 pm and I still haven’t written anything for today. Looks like it’s haiku for tonight.

Leave a Reply

