I SEEK TRUTH IN DARKNESS X 3

Where does a poet get inspiration? Once in a while it is stolen from another poet. I spend a little time every day trying to locate other poetry blogs, just because I really enjoy reading other writers. There is always something to learn. The problem is in locating poetry blogs. Even with WordPress’s search feature, one must sift through a lot of chaff to find the grain.

The trick is in finding the first good poet’s blog, after that one can click on the blogroll or trace back to those who write comments. Poets tend to be the ones who comment on other poets’ work—which is a shame, because we also enjoy critique from those who read just for pleasure.

Today, in my search, I found Dead Poet 88, and one of his poems, Spiral, http://deadpoet88.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/spiral/ grabbed me. One line of the poem in particular, woke my muse: “I only search for truth in the darkness.”

I knew immediately that I had to use that line in a poem, but then confusion stepped in. I write what I know, but several periods of my life started vying for a poem from each period’s points of view.

Within the day, I had three poems in progress and was trying to decide which one to post. To eliminate my dilemma, I think I will just post them all.

I SEEK TRUTH IN DARKNESS
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by -=DMC=-

I seek truth in darkness
As you lie here by my side;
Listening to your breathing,
As nothing do you hide.

Loves truth should thus be
Discovered on warm nights
Of playful, gentle loving
And heavenly delights.

No great truth do I need,
No excitement or ado,
More than the simple phrase
“Honey, I love you.”

I SEARCH FOR TRUTH IN DARKNESS
by Mike Patrick

I search for truth in darkness
Where it so often hides.
In shuttered rooms and crowded tombs
Where mostly sin resides.

Darkness holds the answers
To where you go at night.
I must know what pulls you
And why you shun the light.

If I must, I’ll follow
Across the River Styx,
Where all lost souls must cross
With destinations fixed.

I ONLY SEARCH FOR TRUTH
by Mike Patrick

I only search for truth
In the darkness of the night,
Where no one sees my tear streaked face,
Or understands my plight.

What might I find in dim-lit rooms?
Behind each door, what lies?
I’m sure that your are hiding,
And the soul within me dies.

Twas in darkness first you promised
Your love was ever mine.
In darkness now, I seek you out,
Afraid of what I’ll find.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I SEEK TRUTH IN DARKNESS X 3

  1. deadpoet88 says:

    You’ve done a great work with all three, I cannot quite decide which I like best. They’re all very good in their own way. Amazing poetry!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thank you twice: once for your kind words, and once for that wonderful line. I have to be careful reading your blog, every verse is great, but some of them overwhelm. I hate it when my muse sees something special and starts jabbing me with that bony elbow.

  2. Michelle Dee says:

    You are truly talented. I envy your ability to come up with words and phrases in such a beautiful manner.

    Loving all 3 I particularly like the second one the most.

  3. pmwanken says:

    Though I absolutely love all three, I’m most connected with the first right now. Well done, Mike!

  4. poesravenlady says:

    I like #2, “I Search for Truth in Darkness,” immensely…. “crowded tombs,” and the reference to the river Styx struck a chord with me, as I have referenced it as well. If you ever get the chance, I hope you can read mine (“Pirogue” at http://poesravenlady.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/pirough/ ). I’d be honored. Thank you for writing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

