MOONLIGHT

In the old astrological zodiac, I was born a Cancer (or Moon Child). I am not sure what I am under the new zodiac (read crap) they are now talking about, and I do not care, because I have always identified with the moon. I am a night owl and make many, many references to the moon. Sometimes, through the magic of transference, I trade places with the moon . . . and I write poetry from its point of view. Such a result is the free verse, Moonlight.

MOONLIGHT
by Mike Patrick

Flickr image by Thomas Frejek

The moonlight steals across your bed and lightly kisses your lips.
Softly moving down, it caresses your throat.
Your eyes open and the moon drinks them in,
Watching as it builds shadows across your skin.

Moonlight: cooling, soothing; washing away the day’s heat.
Lingering on the tangled sheets;
Hating to leave your side,
Inch by inch it retreats.

The moonlight ignores the breeze that pushes past the window.
It ignores the way the breeze brushes your hair.
Jealous of the time after it must set,
Because the breeze gets to linger there.

The curtains dance for you in the evening air.
Still lit by the moon, they rejoice.
Casting shadows that reach out for you
Until the moon fades away weeping.

Moonlight waits for tomorrow’s return.
Waiting to hold you in its spell.
Waiting to touch your lips and caress your throat.
Waiting to see your eyes glow in its light.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MOONLIGHT

  1. deadpoet88 says:

    Beautiful poem, I have a fondness for the moon myself, and I love the way moonlight makes everything look so silvery. Very passionate poem, the moonlight is almost like a lover.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thank you deadpoet88, especially after I have so blatantly stolen the line “I only search for truth in the darkness,” from your poem Spiral at http://deadpoet88.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/spiral/. It is a powerful poem, and that line grabbed me. I just have to build a poem around it. Now I’m in a struggle trying to figure out which way I want to go with it. So far I have three “truth in darkness” poems under construction and I’m not happy with any of them. Once something comes together, it will appear in the Quill, and I hope it meets with your approval.

      Thanks again.
      Mike

  2. connetta says:

    I have written several poems about the moonlight in a sexual way…when the shadows fall blending everything together and darkness blending them as one. one of my poems “Natures Lust” speeks of this..I adore your poem, makes me want to write poetry on this fold winter day without the sun……

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Connie, it took me a while to find Natures Lust on your blog. It was way back in September 2007. It’s lovely. Anyone looking at your blog will instantly see your love of nature . . . and abandoned houses. The photographs are so beautiful, and so sad.

      Mike

  3. Michelle Dee says:

    Love the visual you give me in this one. I too am a night owl and lover of the moon. This is one of my faves now!

    • Mike Patrick says:

      That is one of the few areas where Sandy and I do not agree. She spent her entire working life arriving at work between 5 and 6 a.m. I spent mine on rotating shifts, working nights two out of every three months. I believe a good bed time is about 3 a.m. She thinks it should be 9 p.m. I love the night, it is my most creative time, and if ever I get a mistress, it will be the moon.

Leave a Reply

