LOVE SONNET NUMBER THREE

LOVE SONNET NUMBER THREE
Okay, I am beginning to enjoy writing sonnets. Who would have guessed? They are still a lot of work, but that degree-of-difficulty thing is forcing me to extend myself. Besides, I enjoy making my wife blush, and as I said, you write what you know. Now if I could just get over this getting-old thing . . .

LOVE SONNET NUMBER THREE
by Mike Patrick

Flicker image by llefenni

I am ashamed my heart has grown so weak
Within this battered, broken, useless chest.
It doth not know that love shall never peak,
Instead it struggles not to stop and rest.
In youth, we played amongst the fragrant flowers;
My eager lips would over you cascade.
So quickly fled, erotic, joyful hours,
While love, our hearts so easily conveyed.
Oh! Years have changed much less than I first thought.
Your lips do still excite me with each kiss,
And naught has changed since first your love I caught.
To stroke your skin is still my dearest bliss.
Desire at any age should fail us not,
As long as loving moments still are sought.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LOVE SONNET NUMBER THREE

  1. connetta says:

    A wonerful poem for love that lasted many years. Time does not touch true love. So true is this poem to life.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      We write what we know. Would that I had become serious about writing years earlier. Do you ever wish you could start over at about fifteen . . . knowing what you know now?
      Mike

Leave a Reply

