CRYING IS JUST A HOBBY OF MINE

Occasionally, one needs to take a day of whimsy; a day to review the follies of youth and put them into a more mature perspective. It is amazing how important events pale with the passage of time. It can be fun to grab the quill and let the ink flow where it will. Such was the drive that produced Crying is Just a Hobby of Mine.

CRYING IS JUST A HOBBY OF MINE
by Mike Patrick

Flickr phot by TimOve

Don’t be alarmed when you see my tears.
You might find me this way anytime.
I’ve been practicing now for several years.
Crying’s just a hobby of mine.

It doesn’t matter if I started
Right after her goodbye.
It’s not as if I’m broken hearted,
You see, I really like to cry.

Some folks say I should turn pro;
Why do all that for free?
Someday I might, but I don’t know.
For now, I only cry for me.

In time, I’ll give it up—I hope.
And if she came back, that would be just fine.
But if they ask about tears of pain, I’ll say, “Nope,
Crying’s just a hobby of mine.”

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to CRYING IS JUST A HOBBY OF MINE

  1. connetta says:

    I think I write my best when i’m sad, mad, or depressed. this poem says a lot about that feeling of sadness.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Sadness is one of the motivators for me too, Connie. I need emotion to write. When emotion is absent, I can stare at the screen for hours and never touch the keyboard. I have several classical poets’ sites bookmarked, and when the muse refuses to speak to me, I read Shakespeare or Browning. They always stir up passion in one form or another. Sadness and love are the two primary drivers; there are some lesser ones.

  2. Michelle Dee says:

    This one gave me chills

Leave a Reply

