About the Poet

I spent most of my life as a copper (cop was considered a derogatory term when I was first sworn in, not so much now), and I loved every minute of it. But allow me to let you in on a little secret. Police work is HARD on a marriage: for the cop and the spouse. Police often have a hard time separating their work and home lives. Sometimes the job insists on following an officer home. Feelings and emotions are squelched as a coping mechanism. As for the spouse, the strain and worry about injury or death pray heavily, as do rotating shifts, missed holidays, birthdays, anniversaries, and children’s recitals, and ball games. I mention this so you might understand why my wife Sandy and I have only been married for thirteen years.

We live together on the outskirts of St. Louis, Missouri, with our two daughters: one of them is a small Doberman pincer (Tigger), and the other is a huge Weimaraner (Fiona). Between us, we have eight grandchildren. I love her, the grandkids and the dogs more than life itself, and I am living in the happiest period of my life.

Thirty-seven years as a cop made me yearn to write something other than police reports. I have read classical poetry (Shakespeare, Robert Burns, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Sara Teasdale, etc.) for years. Elizabeth Barrett Browning’s How do I Love Thee http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/how-do-i-love-thee/ is my favorite poem of all time. About twenty years ago, I began writing the occasional poem and showing them to a few close friends who I thought wouldn’t laugh at them, at least not to my face. They were on par with some high school kid’s doodling, and I longed to do better, but avoided writing for pleasure due to the lack of the spelling gene. I had to wait for computers to contain spell check before trying to write seriously.

Later, I played around writing a couple of novels to the point of trying to find an agent. After piling up enough rejection slips, I let that dream go.

About three years ago, I shattered my elbow while at work and had to retire from a job I looked forward to every day of those thirty-seven years. For the first time, I could concentrate on my writing; although the shattered elbow causes the little and ring finger of my left hand to type some really strange stuff once in a while. I was writing in a couple of blogs, one political and one of a personal, family nature, but I still wanted to do that poetry thing.

The Poet’s Quill is a place to hone any poetry skill I may have. I’m writing this after the first three weeks of the Quill’s existence. Already, I have learned how little I know—almost nothing of modern poetry. Here, I stumble, fall, get up, and keep experimenting with verse. Already a few new friends have been found, and they are gently guiding me to new heights. It would be my pleasure to someday be called a poet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to About the Poet

  1. Becca Givens says:

    I look forward to watching you journey further down this path … becca

  2. This is a great story and I’m glad you’re sharing it and the gift of poetry with us.

  3. I praise you for your efforts Mike, I am not one to read so often. Most of my poetry reading was i n high school and college. I do not read that much, until lately due to a job with a lot of free time. I choose free verse due to its lack of constraints and lately, haiku. I am still learning all the forms, but seems to much when all I want to do is write. Good luck on your journey! I have enjoyed your work so far!

  4. Hello Mike,
    That is an absorbing short biography. It is interesting to know where you are located – I’d assumed you were in the UK or Ireland. Missouri – upriver from New Orleans?

  5. ladynimue says:

    You are a poet the day you think you can see beauty in words .. And you my friend, make words all the more beautiful .. Loved reading about you ..

Leave a Reply

