ONE LOVE

I must apologize to my regular readers. Since I’ve gone back to work, all my time is filled, and any time I have for writing goes to writing bid proposals; however, I sill subscribe to a lot of you and I read your posts daily. When I received the early release of Brenda’s Wordle for this week http://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/ , the words (hips, marrow, crocuses, stillness, massive, secret, flower, grief, window, perhaps, hand, clatter, colors) took off running and I couldn’t stop them. Please pardon the rough draft appearance, I’m working today too, and will not have the time to clean it up.

Wonderful words Brenda.

ONE LOVE
by Mike Patrick

Slowly she crossed to the window,
sliding her hand along the counter,
using it as a cane.
Those damned hips don’t let her move like she used to;
and the weariness,
steeped in to the very marrow of her bones, didn’t help.

Still, she crossed to the window
as she does every morning.
Outside, the crocuses were still in bloom;
nestled in the flowerbed he made for her,
their purple colors reflected pearls of dew.

She stood unmoving in the stillness of the dawn,
gazing across the massive lawn
at the stone standing under their elm tree.

She still longed for the clatter that woke her
as he made the morning coffee.
Fifteen years he’s been gone,
and she had never been able to keep her grief a secret.

Her friends had tried to get her to move on,
find someone new.
Perhaps she should have,
but one love is enough for anyone;
at least, that is the way she saw it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ONE LOVE

  1. vivinfrance says:

    Mike, how lovely to ‘see’ you here. I often think of you and wonder how you’re getting on. Your Wordle poem is wonderful, so tender. I realise that you don’t have any time, but perhaps you could delete the rogue “has” from this line: “and she had never been able to keep her grief HAS a secret.
    Don’t stay away so long next time, please.

    • Mike Patrick says:

      Thanks, Viv. I miss you all.
      I will take care of the “has.” That is what happens when a list of words starts painting a picture so quickly the fingers cannot keep up.
      I still read everything you write, Viv. I find time to read my friends poems, even if I don’t have time to comment. By the way, I was concerned for your health for a while there, but your down time only added to the quality of your poetry. I read in awe.

  2. Pretty good for a “rough draft”. I don’t think it needs changing. Very touching. Good to see you back Mike :)

  3. margo roby says:

    Hello ghost. I thought you had fallen off the planet, but figured you were up to your eyebrows in work. I hoped poetry would eventually pull you back.

    For a draft, this has strong legs. You aren’t as rusty as you may think. So good to see you. I’m glad to know you are there. Hoping another list of words grabs you.

    margo

  4. Good to see you Mike. You were missed but, work is work and the wages are welcome when so many don’t have any eh!
    As you can see, we’re all still here doing the same thing and, it really is so good to see you again. I don’t think this needs any altering at all, it’s sad, lovely.

  5. brenda w says:

    There is a practical voice to this, and I agree with Margo. For a draft, this rocks. Well done. It’s nice to have you back among us.

  6. barbara says:

    especially the “longed for the clatter” line
    good to see you around again. hope your busy-ness is the good sort

  7. maharukh says:

    wow.. its amazing… i loved the ending part :)

  8. JulesPaige says:

    Both my mother (though she did attempt a date or two) and my Mother-in-law would agree 100% with your words.
    My wordle offering is here if you get the chance:

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/05/picturesque-sw-wordle-57.html

  9. Amazed at the expressiveness of this “rough draft”. A Mike Patrick work of art that I’m sure only becomes more beautiful with revision. When you find the time, the rhyme’s sublime.

  10. pmwanken says:

    Beautiful, Mike, as I would expect nothing less. This was a good list of words, I can see why they grabbed you. And, as others have already said, SO good to “see you” here. :D

  11. So good to see you, Mike. I agree for a draft this is pretty darn good sir.

    Pamela

  12. Draft?! You have skills, this is a complete work in itself!! Very nice writing, Mike!!

  13. becca givens says:

    Your rough draft is awesome, Mike! It was good to get an email letting me know you had posted! You have been missed!

  14. markwindham says:

    enjoyed this very much, loving the last stanza

  15. Beautiful, excellent imagery, poignant wordl.

  16. tmhHoover says:

    “Slowly she crossed to the window,sliding her hand along the counter,using it as a cane.” That opening line could take you anywhere!! It is good you let these words have their way.

    • geri=MomIt says:

      I just came to check in and see how you’re doing and noticed that my comment didn’t quite make it through..I have no idea what I planned to say…but I did very much love this poem! I hope you are working hard and loving it! Hope you drop by sometime soon to write another poem or just let us all know how you’re doing!!

  17. Tilly Bud says:

    Wonderful, Mike – the poem and to see you back!

  18. Tumblewords says:

    Heart reaching piece – truly thoughtful and lovely.

  19. Mr. Walker says:

    Mike, good to hear from you. No apology necessary. This is a wonderful poem. I could imagine her so clearly, and I love the viewpoint you took in this one. I love that last stanza, especially “one love is enough for anyone”. I feel the same way.

    Richard

Leave a Reply

