WHEN WE TALK

The music for each of the nocturnes can be found at http://www.tropicalglen.com/Jukebox/Genre/Classical/ChannelClassical.html

Nocturne #4
Written to: Gounod – Ave Maria (Meditation on Prelude No. 1 of Bach)
WHEN WE TALK
by Mike Patrick

When we talk at night
our voices change,
as do our words.

All I want to talk about is you.
I want to tell you about love,
but . . . you already know.

You know everything about me.
You know my eyes seek yours.
You know my lips.
O you know my lips,
as only I know yours.

You felt the softest touch
my hand can make
as I pushed the hair from your face
to see your smile.
So easily you stopped its flight
and lightly kissed each finger.

You have heard the beat of my heart
as your head rested on my chest.
You have to know
it beats for you.

But I wonder if you know
I could hold you like this forever.
Your smile, your eyes
and the catch in your breath
tell me everything.

Sometimes, it’s best
when we talk at night
and say nothing at all.

 

This entry was posted in Free Verse, Love, Music, Night, Nocturne, Poetry, Un-rhyming, Unprompted and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WHEN WE TALK

  1. pmwanken says:

    Absolutely breathtaking, Mike. You do have a gift! I keep coming back to re-read this…and “Evening’s Silence”…stunning, both.

  2. becca givens says:

    How wonderfully romantic!! You are a “renaissance man”, Mike!!

  3. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh, I do love this–and feel it!

Leave a Reply

