THE LEGEND OF CREVE COEUR LAKE

Thought I would combine Writer’s Island http://writersisland.wordpress.com/, free write for NaPoWriMo, with Big Tent Poetry http://bigtentpoetry.org/. Okay, so I couldn’t come up with anything to match Big Tent Poetry’s prompt, “write a poem using lung.” I still had the other prompt, “Writing a poem beginning with, “Legend says ______.”

I had to go back to my old patrol sector for this one, but it gives me one more day to work on that lung thing. There is an outside possibility that I’ll stroke out before tomorrow and get to avoid it altogether.

THE LEGEND OF CREVE COEUR LAKE
by Mike Patrick

The weeping springs of Creve Coeur Park

Legend says Creve Coeur,
which is French for broken heart,
and is also the name for a lake
Within a lovely park.

Many, many years ago
in St. Louis history,
a heart-shaped lake once was formed,
why is still a mystery.

An Indian tribe lived nearby
with a princess full of grace.
Any man fell in love
if he should see her face.

To the lake a trapper came,
a man of French descent.
For once, the princess fell in love
and could have been content.

But the trapper loved another
and to her he returned,
leaving behind the fractured heart
of a girl whose love still burned.

The princess could no longer live
with the heart which he did break.
She leapt off the broken cliff
which overlooked the lake.

Unto this day, along that cliff
a weeping spring appears.
The locals say its only source
is the falling of her tears.

And so the lake received its name
and remained forever more:
the lake of the broken heart,
the legend of Creve Coeur.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to THE LEGEND OF CREVE COEUR LAKE

  1. pamela says:

    I like this legend poem Mike, a very sad tale indeed. I admire your use of rhyme, not a strong suit for me.

    Pamela

    • Mike Patrick says:

      I started out with rhyme and enjoy the discipline. Free verse feels a little odd to me, but I find myself using it more and more.

      • pmwanken says:

        I’ve been the opposite…rhyming does NOT come easy at all…free verse is much more my style. I have enjoyed the challenge of trying to do various other “forms”…but they’re more like “assignments” rather than anything that naturally comes to me.

        • Mike Patrick says:

          Sometimes it’s difficult, but I believe it’s worth the effort. As one who believes the poetry of the masters is the most beautiful thing in verse, they are the goal for which I strive, but I fear my efforts shame them.

  2. Touching story and well presented with your easy, flowing rhyme.

  3. Marianne says:

    Sad tale of unrequited love. And a great response to the “Legend says” prompt!

    Check out my poem if you have time:

    http://herwordsbloomed.blogspot.com/2011/04/napowrimo-9-write-etheree.html

  4. Gloria says:

    Good legend….especially liked the last two verses. :)

  5. pmwanken says:

    Mike…what a lovely piece! I love it!

    As for the intro…I’m still laughing!! I will hold the breath within my lungs ’til tomorrow, when I can read your greatest work, yet! ;)

  6. earlybird says:

    Such a sad story, Mike, and very well told. (I just wondered about last line of v4?…)

  7. Tilly Bud says:

    How sad and lovely.

  8. Mr. Walker says:

    “a weeping spring appears” – I really like that line. And when I looked at the picture, it seemed doubly appropriate. A sad legend well told.

  9. I visited the springs for the first time today. Love the poem.

  10. Mary B says:

    Many a walk and sunset with my dad there, beautiful poem. that’s for bring back the memories.

Leave a Reply

